FAQ

ASSEMBLY

What depth should I plan for my retaining wall?

The depth of a gabion wall is primarily decided according to the height of the wall to be built, but also according to the specifications of your project (type of support, type of soil, applied vertical load, etc.). To get an idea of the depth for a typical retaining wall, apply the following rule: DEPTH=HEIGHT/2 (validation by the experts at GABIO is still essential).

What type of foundation and what thickness should I plan?

A foundation is necessary no matter what type of gabion work is bring done. The type of foundation varies according to your wall. Generally speaking, at a minimum, a foundation should be composed of 300 mm (around 11 ¾ inches) of MG20 compacted to 95%.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

What tools are necessary?

Our gabions don’t require any particular tools – a simple pair of pliers is all that’s needed to close the C-shaped metal clips that are supplied separately. Spirals are also supplied with certain gabion orders. These spirals, installed vertically, are required to ensure structural integrity of the gabion.

What are the available gabion formats?

GABIO can manufacture any size of gabion. However, the mesh size must fit for the chosen dimensions, either 75mm x 75mm or 50mm x 100mm. The final dimensions of a panel cannot be more than 2m x 1m.

Is your mesh guaranteed against rust?

GABIO steel mesh and its accessories are protected by Crapal Premium anticorrosion treatment. This coating was developed in Europe by Arcelor Mittal and is made of zinc, aluminum and magnesium. This type of coating offers a corrosion resistance that is eight times higher than hot-dip galvanising that can currently be found on Asian products.  Crapal Premium is the highest level of protection offered on the market, allowing us to offer a 20-year guarantee against corrosion.

FILLING

What size of stone should I use?

The minimum size of stone should be 80 mm (more than 3 ¼ inches) to stop the stone from passing through the mesh. Maximum size depends only on the visual aspect you want and the depth of the work being done. We don’t advise the use of frost-shattered stone, as it doesn’t stack properly.

What quantity is needed to fill a gabion?

Generally speaking, in terms of quantity, you should count around 1.6 metric tonnes of stone for every m³ of gabion.

What other materials can be used?

All kinds of solid materials can be used as fill: wood, flat stones, crushed glass, recycled materials, etc.

COMPLETION DATES AND PAYMENT

What payment methods do you accept?

Your entire order must be paid for in full prior to delivery, either by credit card (Visa or MasterCard), by cheque, bank transfer or cash.

What are your payment terms?

If you already have an account open at GABIO (or Innovex), payment terms are net 30 days. Otherwise, your order must be paid in full at the time of ordering.

What are the delivery times?

After ordering and according to your delivery location, you should normally count from 3 to 5 workdays.

Contact us
for any other questions!

FAQ

MONTAGE

Quelle profondeur dois-je prévoir pour mon mur de soutènement?

La profondeur d’un mur en gabions se décide principalement en fonction de la hauteur du mur à construire, mais aussi selon les caractéristiques de votre projet (type de soutènement, nature du sol, charge verticale appliquée, etc.). Cependant, pour se faire une idée dans le cadre d’un mur de soutènement type, il suffit d’appliquer la règle suivante: PROFONDEUR=HAUTEUR/2 (une validation par les experts de GABIO reste toutefois indispensable).

Quel est le type de fondation et quelle épaisseur dois-je prévoir?

Une fondation est nécessaire pour n’importe qu’elle type d’ouvrage en gabions. Ensuite, cela varie en fonction de votre mur. De manière générale, il faudra toujours au minimum une fondation de 300 mm (environ 11 ¾ pouces) de MG20 compactées à 95%.

CARACTÉRISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

Quels sont les outils nécessaires?

Nos gabions ne nécessitent aucun outillage particulier, une simple pince sera nécessaire pour fermer les agrafes métalliques en «C» fournies séparément. Des spirales sont également fournies avec certaines commandes de gabions. Ces spirales, utilisées à la verticale, sont essentielles pour assurer la bonne structure des ouvrages.

Quels sont les formats disponibles de gabions?

GABIO peut fabriquer n’importe quel grandeur de gabion. La taille des treillis doit cependant respecter la dimension des mailles choisies soit, 75mm x 75mm ou 50mm x 100mm et la dimension finale d’un panneau ne peut pas être supérieure à 2m x 1m.

Est-ce que vos treillis sont garantis contre la rouille?

Les treillis d’acier GABIO et leurs accessoires sont protégés par le traitement anticorrosion Crapal Premium.  Ce revêtement développé en Europe par Arcelor Mittal est composé de zinc, d’aluminium et de magnésium. Ce type d’enduit offre une résistance à la corrosion qui est huit fois plus élevée que la galvanisation à chaud couramment retrouvée chez les produits asiatiques.  Le Crapal Premium est le plus haut niveau de protection offert sur le marché ce qui permet d’offrir une garantie de 20 ans contre la corrosion.

REMPLISSAGE

Quelles taille et type de pierre utiliser?

La taille minimum des pierres doit être de 80 mm (plus de 3 1/4 pouces), afin d’éviter que celles-ci ne traversent les mailles. La taille maximale dépends uniquement de l’aspect visuel recherché et de l’épaisseur de l’ouvrage. Nous déconseillons les pierres de types gélives, car celles-ci ne s’imbriquent pas correctement les unes aux autres.

Quelle quantité faut-il pour remplir un gabion?

En termes de quantité de façon générale, il faut compter environ 1,6 tonnes métriques de pierres pour chaque m³ de gabion.

Quels autres matériaux peuvent être utilisés?

Toutes sortes de matériaux solides peuvent être utilisés pour le remplissage : bois, pierres plates, verres concassés, matériaux recyclés, etc.

DÉLAI ET PAIEMENT

Quels sont les moyens de paiement acceptés?

Avant la livraison de votre commande, vous devrez acquitter le total de votre facture, soit par cartes de crédit (Visa ou MasterCard), par chèque, virement bancaire ou argent comptant.

Quelles sont les conditions de paiements?

Si vous possédez déjà un compte ouvert chez GABIO (ou Innovex), les conditions de paiement sont «net 30 jours». Dans le cas contraire, vous devrez acquitter votre facture au moment de la commande.

Quels sont les délais de livraison?

Après commande et selon votre lieu de livraison, il faut normalement compter de 3 à 5 jours ouvrables.

Pour toute autre question,
communiquez avec nous!